Emotional Paradox

If there was ever a time
where I needed to cry,
today would be that day.
My emotions are cold.
The fears are getting old.
I have nothing left to say.

My stomach’s a wreck,
And this pain in my neck
Has worked it’s way to my heart.
All the physical stress
Has made my life a mess
My dignity ripped apart.

But here I am still standing
With future dreams I’m planning.
To understand this world in a new way.
If there was ever a time,
Where I needed to cry.
That day was yesterday.

Today I move on,
From this ticking time bomb.
Avoiding the explosion.
You set me free
Without consulting me
And now the plan’s in motion.

Now I’m walking all alone,
In darkness with the unknown.
But I find a certain comfort here.
If there was ever a time
Where I needed to cry
It’s the day I can’t shed a tear.

-Rhonda Farabee

Leave a comment